Spices

Spices(Relative to India), Habesha (Relative to Abyssinia), or Spices are a substance or group of substances that are usually added to food in small quantities and are used to give flavor to different foods. Spices are made from all parts Plants such as seeds, fruits, leaves, bark and roots.

Spices are used in fields other than food as preserving food in medicine, in some religious ceremonies, in cosmetics, and in perfumery and may be used as mere vegetables. Turmeric is also used as a preservative, for example,; cloves are used in medicine as an anesthetic; garlic as vegetables, etc.

Battle of Al Khair has diversified its spices from all over the world to become a fortress for the trade of food and spices in the Gulf and the Arab world between India and Turkey and Bahrain and others …

Spices must be distinguished from some herbs that are also used to add flavor to food, such as basil, for example, while these herbs usually consist of parts of the plant as well, they are usually fresh and fresh, while spices are usually in the form of a dry powder. Here we must refer to salt, while salt is also a dry powder used to add flavor to food, but it is not a spice as it is not extracted from any plant material but rather it is a mineral substance.

Classifications

Spices are classified according to the part from which they are made from the plant:

Leaves or branches of aromatic plants, for example: rosemary, parsley, bay leaf and thyme.

Ripe fruits or plant seeds, for example: mustard, pepper, and fennel.

Roots or bulbs, for example: garlic and ginger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

البهارات 

البهارات (نسبة للهند) أو التحبيشة (نسبة للحبشة) أو التوابل هي عبارة عن مادة أو مجموعة مواد تضاف عادة إلى الطعام بكميات قليلة وتستعمل لإعطاء نكهة للأطعمة المختلفة، وتصنع البهارات من كافة أجزاء النباتات كالبذور والثمرات والأوراق واللحاء والجذور .

وتستعمل البهارات في مجالات أخرى غير الطعام كحفظِ الغذاءِ في الطب، وفي بعض الطقوس الدينية، وفي مستحضرات التجميل، والعطارة وقد تستخدم كمجرد خضار. فالكركم يستعمل أيضاً كمادة حافظة على سبيل المثال، ؛ القرنفل يستعمل في الطب كمخدر؛ الثوم كخضار وما إلى ذلك.

وقد تنوعت شركة باتل الخير في أنواع البهارات لديها من مختلف أنحاء العالم لتصبح قلعة لتجارة المواد الغذائية والتوابل بالخليج والوطن العربي ما بين الهند و تركيا و البحرين و غيرها …

ويجب تمييز البهارات عن بعض الأعشاب التي تستعمل أيضا لإضفاء نكهة على الطعام كالريحان مثلا، ففي حين أن هذه الأعشاب تتكون عادة من أجزاء من النبات أيضا إلا أنها تكون في العادة نضرة وطازجة في حين أن التوابل تكون عادة على شكل مسحوق جاف. وهنا يجب الإشارة إلى الملح ففي حين أن الملح أيضا مسحوق جاف يستعمل لإضفاء نكهة على الطعام ولكنه ليس من البهارات حيث أنه لا يستخلص من أية مادة نباتية بل هو مادة معدنية.

التصنيفات

تصنّف البهارات حسب الجزء الذي تصنّع منه من النبات:

  • الأوراق أو الفروع للنباتات العطرية، ومثال عليها: إكليل الجبل والبقدونس وورق الغار والزعتر.
  • الثمار الناضجة أو بذور النباتات، ومثال عليها: الخردل والفلفل والشمار.
  • الجذور أو الأبصال، ومثل عليها: الثوم والزنجبيل.

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *